I'm not really like this, I have put me off so long...
white flag
2001-07-22
4:55 p.m.

I was reassigned to the prison ward at 6 am this morning
working back up from where it all began and i could cry for the ghosts that live there
standing in the doorway i could see the world in my bedroom
watching heaven through a paper bag that says i could fly off my roof

where do you go when the flag has gone up
but you're on the wrong side of the field?
where do you end up when your expectations go down
and you fall in the pit they've become?

i love you, i truly do and that is why this farewell is so inevitable
everything i've ever seen in you is a lie, that i have constructed
and though your face will remain the most beautiful one ive ever seen
though your existance in dreams is the most perfect existance i have ever known

why do you remain when the flag has gone up
and you're on my side of the field?
why don't you stop smiling when you trip and fall
over my pit of despair?

let it roll away from you, this empathy it is not needed
i do not intend to be very much disappointed in you
everyone knows you are already better than i ever was
but i still stand beside you waiting for comparison

i wanted to be away from it all for a single day
i stood on the roof and spoke to the sky for some sympathy
there is no reason for my reactions, no crime i have committed
if i stop talking to strangers it will be alright by tomorrow evening

why do you insist on listening when you don't understand this vernacular?
why do you care who won when you don't understand the problem?
stop feigning compassion i don't care about what you do not care about
just leave me alone in my depths with my white flag proclaiming my guilt.

innocence is lost,
innocence is dead,
and so am i.

last :: next
About Me:

Feverish ramblings of a pseudostar on the edge of disillusionment

Last Five Entries:

Lowlives, revisited - 2012-10-10
Sula Peace need - 2012-10-10
at 17 - 2012-10-10
puppy ii - 2012-10-10
Continuation - 2012-10-10