I'm not really like this, I have put me off so long...
The weeks ahead
2004-06-07
2:47 a.m.

The apartment is quiet at four in the early morning
the day before my dogs arrive
the week before a lovely boy leaves
the month before I try to win you back

The poodles are tiny
no bigger than a shoebox
in fact you could probably fit
each into his own
they're coming to fill the place up with noise
the clatter of their toes on the bare wood
the shriek of their barks as we come home
their breathing in bed.

The boy was fantastic
to stare at in the early morning
I stared
like a child occupied by a diamond
he used to come at four am
to fill the bed up with heat
to entwine his limbs with mine
to prevent me from being afraid,
us from being alone

and you are the newest obsession
I hope you can't read the signs
of the replacement man
the consolation prize
but I'll be coming to take you by the hand
I'll be coming to kiss you like they way I used to
I'll be coming in the morning
and you'll see that you should come home with me.

last :: next
About Me:

Feverish ramblings of a pseudostar on the edge of disillusionment

Last Five Entries:

Lowlives, revisited - 2012-10-10
Sula Peace need - 2012-10-10
at 17 - 2012-10-10
puppy ii - 2012-10-10
Continuation - 2012-10-10