I'm not really like this, I have put me off so long...
Summer Bird
2004-05-03
2:20 p.m.

I'm feeling like a summer bird
I want to fly away from here
and where I'll go I cannot say
as long as it is far away

I know the path that leads me home
and I know that there are pathes unknown
and all the places I could go
seem so inviting to me

New York feels like it's minutes near
but I've drunk too much to take myself
and Miami nice in summertime
cos there's heat and loving family

Chicago's where I lost my love
and Cali's where I'll find her
and Dakota's somewhere I've not gone
and Montreal is lovely this time of year

I want to taste the sweetest wine
that Europe has to offer
but I am afraid of hotel rooms
and driving without a partner

I need to leave
I need to stay
I need to know what will come
of everything I've mangled here

I love my home in Durham
but I think it's time to part
for something different before I kill
every chance I tried to build up

I fell in love with somewhere else
Eight hours is so long a trek
to buy a snack with friends
and drink the drinks I've got in my kitchen

My cigarettes have all run out
and my southern comfort's holding me
while I sit in my closet silently
replaying the words my love said to me

Oh he's married off
she's married off
and so is everyone
the only way that I can dream is sleep...

I'm feeling like a summer bird
I want to fly away from here
and where I'll go I cannot say
as long as it is far away

last :: next
About Me:

Feverish ramblings of a pseudostar on the edge of disillusionment

Last Five Entries:

Lowlives, revisited - 2012-10-10
Sula Peace need - 2012-10-10
at 17 - 2012-10-10
puppy ii - 2012-10-10
Continuation - 2012-10-10