I'm not really like this, I have put me off so long...
Self-Portrait
2005-01-08
4:41 a.m.

Once upon a time
I had hair so long and gold
that I was called Rapunzel
by a boy
who liked to tangle his fingers in it
and pull me down
enough that he could climb up
and kiss my mouth
without leaving his bed.

I am quiet in a world of noise
unlike those Disney women.
My voice does not rise above
the ugliness of the world
and chirp like a songbird�s
nor does my conscience,
as I am plagued by terrible thoughts
a victim of schadenfreude
more wicked witch
than sleeping beauty.

But I try�
I take catnaps all the time
hoping my prince will come
and wake me up
and take me to a place
where I can be quiet.

Now I cut my hair
when it grows too boldly.
I try to make it ugly
so it won�t misrepresent me
because I am no innocent maiden�
all the poison I ate
was willingly taken
in an attempt to kill
what is bitter at my core.

Once upon a time,
the poison would work
but it doesn�t anymore.

11/14/04

last :: next
About Me:

Feverish ramblings of a pseudostar on the edge of disillusionment

Last Five Entries:

Lowlives, revisited - 2012-10-10
Sula Peace need - 2012-10-10
at 17 - 2012-10-10
puppy ii - 2012-10-10
Continuation - 2012-10-10