I'm not really like this, I have put me off so long...
Open letter to my traveling friends
2004-05-25
2:06 a.m.

This may be
the final communique
you ever receive from me

because I'm tired of calling you
and hearing that you're
in places I should be
places that used to define me
places where I grew up
and places I lost my loves

I hope you all
enjoy your stay
in the places that shaped me
the places I want to be

And I hope you stay
as long as you can
in the places I've recommended
because they're worth every second

But anyway
enough of that
I just wanted to write
and tell you all
that I can't stand it anymore

As much as I'd love to see you go
I just can't bring myself to
change my life
and change my plans
for people I'll never see again

Because as real as you seemed
in your bedrooms,
you're not
and we're not
anything real

and wouldn't it just be so much nicer
to let things die beautiful
without bringing my childhood into it
without bringing my home/city into it

some things should be sacred,
and union square is definitely one of them
so travel on
and travel well
have a safe trip
and say hello to Annie in the Heartland

I'll not be joining you there
or then
because I can't bring myself
to chase you.

last :: next
About Me:

Feverish ramblings of a pseudostar on the edge of disillusionment

Last Five Entries:

Lowlives, revisited - 2012-10-10
Sula Peace need - 2012-10-10
at 17 - 2012-10-10
puppy ii - 2012-10-10
Continuation - 2012-10-10