I'm not really like this, I have put me off so long...
Kitten
2003-10-22
12:18 a.m.

Would you drop me on my feet?
Cos that�s how I was
before I met you.

I didn�t need anyone
and now I�ve got no man
and I feel like this lost little thing.

My brother runs a warehouse
and when I went to visit him
there were all these kittens running round.

He�d bought this cat,
a pregnant cat,
and one of the guys ran over the mom
after she gave birth.
So, all these little orphan kittens
were running around,
starving and crying.

One got crushed under the boxes.
Another died of starvation,
Smelled awful for two weeks, he said.

The day I came,
they�d caught a baby tabby,
starved to skeletal,
too weak to run or scratch.
They put it in a box
and he drove me to the shelter while I held it.
It kept laying really still
so I felt like it was dying
in my hands.

Every time I thought it died,
my stomach sank.
I�d poke it
and it�d mewl and I knew it was alive,
but I wondered how it would feel
if something died in my hands.

I bet you know
how it feels to kill,
you�d say it feels good to have all the power
over something�s life.
But while I sat there as fate
deigned what happened in mine
I felt poweless.

I still can�t understand
why everyone�s telling me
I�ve gone from girl to woman
cos all I see
is a regression from cat
Back to kitten.

last :: next
About Me:

Feverish ramblings of a pseudostar on the edge of disillusionment

Last Five Entries:

Lowlives, revisited - 2012-10-10
Sula Peace need - 2012-10-10
at 17 - 2012-10-10
puppy ii - 2012-10-10
Continuation - 2012-10-10