I'm not really like this, I have put me off so long...
Crunching in the Moonlight
2001-10-26
12:51 a.m.

I was sitting on the curb, smoking my third cigarette when his headlights became visible at from my block. I�d pulled my socks up to my knees because of the evening chill, and frantically shoved one down as I stumbled to my feet. I tried to amble towards the car, to hide my excitement. �I was pretty sure you were going to stand me up again,� I said, leaning into his window.

He offered a weak half smile. �Sorry-- but you know, I only did stand you up once, and even then, I called to say I couldn�t get off work...�

�Whatever.� I didn�t want to aggravate him. For the record, he had stood me up four times previously. I stood him up once. Our relationship was already shaky. Each of us somewhat quiet in the other�s company, each of us shy, but aware of why he�d come out that night.

He leaned up and kissed my cheek. �So, hi.�

It was just the sort of romantic initiative that is so hackneyed it makes me swoon. I blushed. �Hi.� There was an awkward pause and he looked up at the house. �So, you didn�t have any trouble finding it?�

He shook his head. �No, it was fine.� His eyes were reflecting the lights on the driveway across the street. They twinkled.

�Hey, come on,� I told him, backing away and pulling the door open. As he stepped out, a twig snapped loudly. �Shh!� I giggled.

�I�ll shush you!� he growled and took me down on the lawn. The leaves crunched and crackled under our weight. We mock wrestled in the unraked leaves on the front lawn for a minute, then stopped and smiled at each other. The kiss is coming, I thought. �You�ve got leaves in your hair,� he told me, pulling them out.

�Yea,� I said, running a hand through my hair. It touched his hand and I withdrew mine like I�d been burned. He smirked.

�I won�t bite,� he said. Then came the kiss.

Considering how many times it had happened, both in the real and imagined universes, you�d think I would�ve been used to it. But each time, the full body rush came, washing over me in a wave of lust, nervousness and happiness.

Our hands were clammy as we walked up the driveway. Two hours later we were back on the curb, sharing a cigarette and a bottle of water. �Full moon tonight,� I said.

�No, it�s not quite full,� he said, staring up. I took the moment to admire the perfect curve of his jaw. He noticed my staring. �What?� He laughed.

�Nothing,� I smiled, looking down.

There was silence again, but it wasn�t awkward. I�ve always held the belief that when you�re in love, you can communicate without words, and sit happily in silence. It was not love, but it was the closest I�ve been.

He brushed the leaves off of his jeans. �I should get going.�

I wanted to beg him to stay, to let me put my head in his lap and we could talk about everything or nothing...but instead, I said �Oh, okay.�

�I�ll call you this week. Or talk to you online or something,� he said, above me.

�Okay,� I squeaked, staring up at him. He looked twenty feet tall, my personal adonis, glimmering in the moonlight.

�Are you okay?� he asked, squatting back down.

�Yea, I�m fine,� I smiled. His lips touched my forehead.

�Night, Shane.�

�Goodnight, kid.�

The leaves crunched under his feet as he walked down the block, towards his car.

last :: next
About Me:

Feverish ramblings of a pseudostar on the edge of disillusionment

Last Five Entries:

Lowlives, revisited - 2012-10-10
Sula Peace need - 2012-10-10
at 17 - 2012-10-10
puppy ii - 2012-10-10
Continuation - 2012-10-10