I'm not really like this, I have put me off so long...
In The City of Medicine
2006-05-22
12:00 a.m.

7 in the morning and i'm driving highway 40
and the guy in the car next to me is singing with his radio
some old soul tune, and i'm doing the same thing
we turn and notice one another and we smile as we sing

pull into the city bout 830 in the morning
and the morning traffic's out walking dogs coffee in hand
so I drag my suitcase past them and behind me up the stairs
i try to keep it quiet so i don't wake up the neighbors

and I think I'm finally happy in the city and I don't know why
because I left you or you left me I guess it doesn't matter
cos it hasn't been ruined for me

wander through downtown and notice all the buildings
built in early 20th century they're all so pretty
stock market crashed and it sent this place to shambles
all is empty now and i hope one day we grow up

and I think I'm finally happy in the city and I don't know why
bc i'm tired and i thought i was miserable but
I was wrong and now i love my life

go over to the bar about 11 in the evening
maybe there's something going on and the whole gang is there
sit there drinking beers cost 250 a pop and at 2 we walk home
it's really close enough and we're so

happy so happy together in the city and I don't know why
bc it chewed us up and it spit us out and we're fine yes we're fine

we love durham love yourself

last :: next
About Me:

Feverish ramblings of a pseudostar on the edge of disillusionment

Last Five Entries:

coupling - 2013-03-09
playing house - 2013-03-09
Raise - 2013-03-09
Ross - 2013-02-07
Williams - 2013-01-26