I'm not really like this, I have put me off so long...
Black Cat
2010-06-03
2:17 a.m.

in the alley light a cigarette like it's going to protect me
an announcement to the danger in waiting: don't fuck with me
shoulders back, chin up, breathe, feet on a steady beat
move forward, move, move, out of the dark

a black cat crosses my path
I don't want to be yr Kitty Genovese
I cry out, my life's in yr hands
and you assume someone else has already got me

I check my watch every 6 minutes I know my time is coming
I jingle my keys and take off my heels and prepare to run
see I think about it every day it don't go away it's etched in my brain
I live on these side streets but I shouldn't have to change my ways

in high school a bunch of guys ganged up on me and
I told them I would scream and they laughed at me
haven't you heard of kitty genovese? they asked.
No, I said defensively.
well then let us tell you her story

< during a frightful high school altercation I told my would-be assailants if they didn't back off I would scream and instead of the intended retreat this tactic elicited a perverted glee haven't you heard of kitty genovese? they asked. No, I said defensively. > 38 witnesses, no calls
38 witnesses, no calls do your civic duty make the motherfucking phone call

last :: next
About Me:

Feverish ramblings of a pseudostar on the edge of disillusionment

Last Five Entries:

coupling - 2013-03-09
playing house - 2013-03-09
Raise - 2013-03-09
Ross - 2013-02-07
Williams - 2013-01-26