I'm not really like this, I have put me off so long...
The Path of Needles (full album)
2009-09-15
1:47 a.m.

Introduction
am, F, D

A Warning Am, dmaj7, F if you�re walking the road of life
you better watch out for cars
you better not step in an intersection
you better watch out for cars

C, G, am, F the big bad wolf is coming to steal you away
the big bad wolf is coming to get you today
when you�re in the woods alone
you�re in danger
you walk those long roads home at night

and you don�t you don�t you don�t you don�t
you don�t look both ways
and bang boom bam you�re gone

the big bad wolf coming he�s gonna catch you on your way home
big bad wolf is coming he�ll be catching you on your way

you want to be something real
you want to feel something true
but you lose you lose you lose
you lose if you ever tell the truth:

you�re just a little girl
you take the long roads home
you're comfortable in the dark
you take the long roads home
better walk those mean streets before they come to know
better walk those main streets before they find you alone

and then you�re gone
taken away
you�re gone
taken away


Instructions C, b7, f7, G Mama says take this gin to the city
grandma's lonely you'll be just fine
take the cab to the station then wait in line
don't push or shove you'll be just fine

Mama says take some cookies to grandma
she's all alone and it's the end of her life
keep the box in your knapsack and your hands in your lap
and if you heed my advice you'll be just fine

Am, f, (C, G, dm, F) but if you lose your way somehow
don't bother asking for help
there's none around
there's no short cuts to growing up baby
you gotta do it my way
there's no way around

daddy says little girls are gifts from heaven
specially you kid, but you're not my favorite
there's wolves out there who'll eat you whole
but just keep your eyes fixed in front of you

daddy says grandma's been dying to see you
she got a big old grin and a bottle of gin on the way
wear your coat don't take your gloves off darling
don't talk to strangers whatever they say

but if you break the glass somehow
remember to leave it there
you can't fix it now
once it's gone there's no way to get it back
so keep your eyes trained forward
there's no way around

If you wanna be a big girl you smile real bright
keep your knees clamped shut
keep your coat wrapped tight
don't let them see what you got under there
you got a bottle of gin that no little girl should have...


The Wolf A, C#m, f#m, F chris are you him
the one they warned me about back in schoolhouse days
I wonder if
I�ll ever be able to pinpoint the reasons for this

bm, D, A, g#m aching I could swear it was you all along
but I�d be wrong
and I know it�s just the way I thought it would be
but I�m still believing

you were the one
with all these trainwrecks and heartaches and staying in bed all day
and I was the fool
to say all those words on the telephone

I should have known
it was true all along it�s the wolf that I wanted
I should have known
I swore to you: you weren�t my kind and

D, bm, f#m, G I want to go to sleep
but every night of my life
I�m thinking of you
and all those words I have said that could be misconstrued...

are you the wolf
they all warned me about in those picture books?
you made me so dumb
I couldn�t have reported where I was going

now I should have told you
I was falling so fast like jill over the well hill
I should have waited
have been patient but [youth won�t allow it] I�m just so anxious

I want to go to sleep
but every night of my life
I�m thinking of you
and all those words I have said that could be misconstrued...


The Path of Needles

Yes you
You kissed a little different than I imagined you'd kiss
but still it was nice to be kissed
and touched in a way that was beautiful
and strange to my consciousness
but still it was blissful

I, I never knew that it would happen this way
and now it has and there's nothing I could say
to remedy this situation that has gone awry awry awry

And I
I swore to you that I was truly betrothed
to someone who meant more than anything could mean
but suddenly everything was spinning far away from my control
so I just laid right back and let you take over
me

and I, well I never knew that Pan could be so beautiful so tender
and that jokester and theif,
he stole my heart and made a joke of what I thought love meant to me

Oh I
emerged from the brambles with a new found sense of self
and something dwelling in between my legs
a thought or a flame, it doesn't matter now, anyway
I blew it out when morning came but

I, I never knew that it could happen this way
and everything could be a joke to you and fucking hell
and I, well I never knew that Pan could be so beautiful, so tender
and that jokester and theif, he stole my heart and made a joke
of me
It's gone awry that's right he stole my heart and made a joke
of me


Part 2 Every moment you borrow from me at two AM
makes me wonder why I listen at all
Because every word you say to me when the stars are out
is a construction of the evening's spell

And your eyes are melting my skin into a clumsy coat
because you know you can make me fall down
You carry me because you are the stronger of the two
and the wind breathes your name and I am gone

Because I'm so prone to your selfish little tune
that I hum it even when I know you're far away
You say: Just bite your tongue
And swallow your pride
and everything might be all right

My stallion my savior my lover my friend
you defy the labels with a wave of your hand
And every second you stand before me in your glory
feels like moonight fills my lungs and I am gone

So hush now you whisper and cover my eyes
you play your game with perfect expertise
So Pan you have won me you've stolen my will
and you use my shamed heart against me

Because I'm so prone to your selfish little tune
that I hum it even when I know you're far away
You say: Just bite your tongue
And swallow your pride
and everything might be all right


Broken Glass Am, E, F why are you coming home so late
i been waiting for you for hours baby
you stumble out of your car punchdrunk and lovesick
and my heart it's tripping as it pounds away

where are you sneaking off to now
it's like you're the tramp dog at the pound
i leave you for an hour you've got your dick in someone's mouth
better run to her because my heart is giving out

who the fuck do you think you are
if you own the world let's see the goddamned title
you can do what you want because I don't care anymore
but get out because my heart can't take much more.

what are you doing to me now
take me to the woods lets just get it over with
you wanna break my heart you better shoot it while you got a chance
because I don�t think it will make it to the end

when am I ever going to learn
it happens every night but still i say nothing
you took me from the cradle then you burned burned burned me down
and this heart is bleeding on the floor
yeah my heart won't take it anymore.


The Telephone Call

from the passenger seat I said
what the fuck is this
why are you suddenly back
missing me after a year

you said you wanted to see where I was
wanted to clear the air
you said you heard that I hated you
it wasn�t far from the truth

you could tell I think I know I hope
I love you on the telephone
you bastard how can you be so nice
I swear I fucking hate you sometimes

over long distance I swore
I�ll be your toy no more
you said baby I just wanna know
what I�m apologizing for

you told me that you don�t recall
the shit you told your little friends
I do oh what a stupid whore
I fucked her a while and she thought it meant more

but you could tell I think I know I hope
I love you on the telephone
you bastard how can you be so nice
I swear I fucking hate you sometimes

I yell into the phone on the road
the driver says shes ripping him a new asshole
I know I prematurely showed
the way I felt but fuck it cos I know you know
from the passenger seat i asked what the fuck is this?!
why are you suddenly here missing me after a year?
you said you wanted to see how I was, oh now you suddenly care?
you said you heard that I hated you, well of course I do, look at me and you!

but you could tell I think I know I hope
I love you on the telephone
you bastard how can you be so nice
I swear I fucking hate you sometimes


Dinner for Two C, G, dm, am Isn�t there a heart you should be breaking somewhere?
I don�t think so, they're all too smart for you
Isn�t there some innocence for you to defile?
No, not this time, the girls are old and wise
but I didn�t make it out alive�

Am, F, am, e7 I wrapped myself in red ribbon,
I bound my hands, I bound my legs,
I bound my eyes, I bound my tongue
I trapped myself under your thumb
I sacrificed myself to you
for some unknown religious ruse
I bled myself out at your feet
at least I got it out of me

Isn�t there a heart you should be breaking somewhere?
I don�t think so, they're all too smart for you
Isn�t there some innocence for you to defile?
No, not this time, the girls are old and wise
C, E7, am, F Can I trust you now that I am ruined
since you�re on your knees and that gesture means �forgive me?�
but you always thought that inside I was vicious
maybe I was or maybe I should�ve been
so I wouldn't be in this mess I'm in
trapped in the belly of the beast
trying to fight my way out:
If I had put up a small fight maybe I could have survived�

If I wore red cape or hood, would that be better
set us in the woods
I�ll go to grandma�s house
take off your clothes and burn them
Is there a hunter inside me
will I break my silence, will I cut you open
pull a child out somehow
alive after suffocating?

Isn�t this the point at which you fall down dead?
Not this time you slick bastard
Isn�t this supposed to be my happy ending?
when I retell the story maybe it can be but

Isn�t there a heart you should be breaking somewhere?
I don�t think so, they're all too smart for you
Isn�t there some innocence for you to defile?
No, not this time, the girls are old and wise
but I didn�t make it out alive�

Can I trust you now that I am ruined
since you�re on your knees and that gesture means �forgive me?�
but you always thought that inside I was vicious
maybe I was or maybe I should�ve been
so I wouldn't be in this mess I'm in
trapped in the belly of the beast
trying to fight my way out:
If I had put up a small fight maybe I could have survived�


Wide Eyed
f#m, A, bm, f#m

And I want you to know how it feels
To be broken glass inside
I want you to know how it feels
To be ruined

Well I guess I feel like a fool
He says don�t guess because you are one
I had completely forgiven you
And he says you shouldn�t have

When I walked into the room I was just wide eyed
When I saw her lying with you I was just wide eyed

And I guess I shouldn�t call you again
you tell me I�ll never stop
I wonder how I could�ve let you in
And you say I�m just too easy to present a challenge

When I walked into your room I just got wild eyed
When I saw your hands on her hips I just got wild eyed

D, b, f#m, A She�s younger than you she�s younger than you
She�s younger than you he croons
She�s better than you she�s smarter than you
She�s not you she�s not you she�s not you
It�s your selfish little tune

D, b, f#m, G I wanna break you in two
I will not be so used
I�m gonna break you in two
Then I won�t feel so ruined
I am not young, I am not young
because you took that away from me
I am not young, I am not young,
but I can still learn new tricks


Broken Record

Bm, A, Bm, A (G/em) What big old eyes you've got, the better to see
so you can get my whole body inside them.
What a wide wide smile you've got, the better to grin
so you can flash all your teeth at once
What an air tight lock you got the better to keep
so I will stay as long as you want.
What a big liar you are the better to steal
so you can hide my broken heart away

G, D, A E and tell me why you're so afraid
I'm just one girl, unarmed or unknowing, unwise or unshowing
and show me how you made me stay
so you could break me and break me again and again
What real smart hands you've got, the better to feel
so they can make me shiver all over
What velvet words you've got, the better to hear
so you won't say what you really mean
What a big strong house you've got, the better to sleep
so you won't ever be unsafe at night
What a magician you are, the better to fool
so i won't think I have any pain

and tell me why you're so afraid
I'm just one girl, unarmed or unknowing, unwise or unshowing
and show me how you made me stay
so you could break me and break me again and again

I won't just sit here still
I'm not the good girl that you knew
I'm not the innocent lost in the woods
I'm somebody new and I don't love you
I don't I don't I don't love you
I don't I don't I don't need you
but I do
intend to hurt you

What big old eyes i've got, the better to see
so i can see you at all times baby
What a little mouth I've got the better to be
so quiet you will never hear me coming

and tell me why you're so afraid
I'm just one girl, unarmed or unknowing, unwise or unshowing
and show me how you made me stay
so you could break me and break me again and again and
again and again and again and again
and god I was dumb
no more, this little girl's grown up
and it's going to stop.


Red Riding Hood, Red Handed Is there a safe place you can go little girl
you're dressed in red and they'll spot you in a second
can't you slip underneath the brush and wait for dawn
when it's light you'll be alright and the danger will be gone

did you kill a man with your red little hands
did you mean it, you mean little thing?
did you slay a wolf and his catchling and
did it end up killing you too?

it's okay, there's nobody coming after you
no, it's okay, nobody blames you

is there a quiet talk you want to have little girl
you've lived through nightmares I'm sure they all wanna know
can't you drink yourself out cold if you're you've done wrong
you can deal with the consequences much later on

could you see the wolf in the dark of night
did he rub against you, did you put up a fight?
Did you let him do it and not make a sound
Would you do it again if he asked you right now

it's okay, there's nobody coming after you
no, it's okay, nobody blames you

because he ruined you and what else could you do
you had to slay the wolf


The Death of Little Red keep her lying, keep her talking, just keep her alive inside her mind
make her tell the whole truth, make her
show you how she slayed the wolf and how she cried for him
where is the heart of the child in the woods now a wild woman
and who is the fool who let her run off before telling of why she did

F, C, g, d
let�s revive the girl but bury the child
tortured by dreams of the woods late at night
she may have done wrong but knew she was right
to put up a fight against the wolf because

G, D, A, E Everyday is haunted by the thought that
he�s out there and with one phone call he�ll strike again and
Everyday�s a struggle to trust again and
pretend I still believe in myself

Who could have known that before this was a vibrant and warm little girl
Who could have told her that she was wrong
That she would not make it with him

And now she is cold and she can�t keep warm
She�s crumpled and ruined in the shell of the girl
The child is dead and we can�t pretend
We can�t make believe she�ll ever come again

Everyday is haunted by the thought that
he�s out there and with one phone call he�ll strike again and
Everyday�s a struggle to trust again and pretend I still believe in myself
Everyone hurts they say but not this way, this is a new pain

Everyone hurts they say but not this way, this is a new shame

But how could I blame a wolf for being a wolf
How could I let her get so lost
Deep down inside I know I�m a wolf
Twice bitten I�m one of you/justlike

bm, a, g, f#
and someplace deep inside I am cold from her memory
but she�s buried deep and that�s where she must be
maybe someday she�ll find a way to survive
maybe next time we can both walk out alive

but all I feel inside is cold
I needed something more than you, wolf.

whatever's left of Little Red I'll collect all up and keep locked in silence
I'll warm her up she was always so cold, guess she needed something more than a wolf

How could you know, lying under that cape was a lady with need
to revenge her childhood that never happened--she only wants to skin a wolf
to make a new cape to show hard she is now
but you can't believe everything she shows you, she's lying all the time

whatever's left of Little Red I'll collect all up and keep locked in silence
I'll warm her up she was always so cold, guess she needed something more than a wolf
how could she blame a wolf for being a wolf?
can she kill a wolf for being a wolf?
the wolf wasn't enough to destroy her
but she had to make sure he couldn't try again.


Kiss and Make up

I met the wolf at sunset and he swore he'd changed his ways.
"I'm not the man you knew," he said. "I'm not the same!"
I took him for stroll through the woods, he barely said a thing
except, "I think about a lot and you were right, and I was wrong."

I asked him "You're the wolf, why should I trust in you?"
I told him "You're the wolf!" He said "What does that mean?"

I said "I trusted you when I was just a fool
and you took me for all I was
and it ruined me and that's all I can see
when I look at you."

I spoke to him at sunrise, I was lying in my bed.
He said, "I'm sorry for all I've done to you. I'm going home, meet me there?"
I took the path of needles and I waited at his den...
Lo and behold, he wasn't home yeah, lo and behold, he tricked me again!

I told him, "You're the wolf, why should I trust in you?"
I told him, "You're the wolf, there's nothing you could do to bring me back to you."
He said, "Oh yeah?"

"I never ruined you it was what you wanted to do.
I never ruined you, yeah you ruined you.
Look at the rest of your life!"
and I said, "You're right....

and so who do I blame now you're off the hook
for everything I touch turns to dust?
How do I hold things in my life
when I can't keep anything I love?
What do I do now that I am
not just a little girl on these roads
but doomed to walk them the rest of my days?

I told him, "You're the wolf, why should I trust in you?"
He said, "Because I know you!" And I said, "Yeah, I guess you do."
He said, "You know I do."
I said, "I think I still love you."
He said, "Then you're still a fool."

last :: next
About Me:

Feverish ramblings of a pseudostar on the edge of disillusionment

Last Five Entries:

coupling - 2013-03-09
playing house - 2013-03-09
Raise - 2013-03-09
Ross - 2013-02-07
Williams - 2013-01-26