I'm not really like this, I have put me off so long...
Semester at Sea
2008-11-11
1:34 a.m.

the debutante with golden ringlets in her hair set sail with bangles on her thin wrists
and you hit the dock and waved her off like an idiot
when she's at sea and giggling, swimming with the dolphins
and acquaintances named paolo she won't be thinking about you

you're a fool for loving her
i'm a fool for loving you
she's frolicking in montenegro with some eurotrash from oslo
getting tan while we are withering in winter here at home

and the leaves change
the orange to the grey of death
the summer's past
it'll never last
the gold plated promise ring she laughed at
yeah the leaves change
but our memories stay the same
we think the summer is so great because
we get to go away for once

in eastern europe where the people act so strange
they always mispronounce your name although your parents say that you are from there
you beat your brains out trying to learn how to speak in czech
so you can impress the deb when she returns from life at sea

yr a fool for wanting her
i'm a fool for watching you
you're getting mugged in a back alley in Budapest
and I'm sitting at my oak desk counting days til summer comes

and the leaves change
the orange to the grey of death
the summer's past
it'll never last
you left me at the dockside waiting
leaves change
but our memories stay the same
we think the summer is so great because
we get to go away for once

i drive my beater to the canadian border
and i tell them i am planning just to stay and see some sights
i drive my car right to the edge of nova scotia
and I stand and watch the ocean and wonder if the deb was right

that she will always win the day
i'm a fool to think i'd ever get my way
i'm getting drunk in some numb fishing town whose industry died
with the tide and now we're all washed out

and then the leaves change
the green turns to yellow
turns to orange
turns to brown
turns to grey
SHE LIED TO ME
you said
yes you cry into my chest
and I cradle your sweet head
and think someday
i wanna spend a semester at sea

last :: next
About Me:

Feverish ramblings of a pseudostar on the edge of disillusionment

Last Five Entries:

coupling - 2013-03-09
playing house - 2013-03-09
Raise - 2013-03-09
Ross - 2013-02-07
Williams - 2013-01-26