I'm not really like this, I have put me off so long...
Slut!
2008-09-06
4:07 p.m.

You never called me
what the fuck?
because I wanted you
I am a slut.
why is it okay
for you to fuck?
why is it okay
for you to want?

the label slut doesn't have anything to do with sex. (it) is a stand in for something else:
the extent to which a girl fails to conform to the idea of "normal" appearance and behavior

I guess because I try to run like you
I'm not allowed to change my tune
but if I have to I will choose
to do what I want to do

you won't talk to me
what the fuck?
is it because
my legs are not nailed shut?

I have learned that once a person is labeled anything, she becomes a caricature
rather than a full fledged human being with both talents and flaws.

I guess because I try to run like you
I'm not allowed to change my tune
but if I have to I will choose
to do what I want to do

(you can't do what you want and get away with it if you have a cunt)

you never called me
you're the slut!
I wanted to make it work
and you wanted to fuck me once

Having a slut reputation sharpened her thinking, gave her a sense of perspective about gender roles
and made her acutely aware of the small-mindedness of the sexual double standard.

All italicized text taken without permission from Leora Tanenbaum's Slut! Growing Up Female with a Bad Reputation.

last :: next
About Me:

Feverish ramblings of a pseudostar on the edge of disillusionment

Last Five Entries:

coupling - 2013-03-09
playing house - 2013-03-09
Raise - 2013-03-09
Ross - 2013-02-07
Williams - 2013-01-26