I'm not really like this, I have put me off so long...
Building a Broken Ship
2006-12-21
6:48 p.m.

I will push you away
because I know you won't stay
because nothing ever does

I can force things to break
and have it go my way
even if it's not what I want

this was prophesied
this realized
self fulfilling in its way

cover up your eyes
you are not my kind
no one is at first anyway

let's build a ship
made of lies
full of holes
so it will capsize
let's make romance
let's dance
and drink and screw
and everyone loses
at games where everyone is playing with fire
(everyone wins
when they bet on my demise)
everyone dies
sometime

I will sing you a song
because it's written about me
and you can see through me through it

I can write you a note
to tell you the worst
but it will end up getting burned

this is standardized
this is every time
I cover my tracks and improve my

ways of faking smiles
and pretending blindness
in the face of the obvious

let's build a ship
made of lies
full of holes
so it will capsize

that way when we die
nobody's surprised
nobody cries at the end of this ride
it can be proven to be ruined
before it ever began at all
if you can find a way to stay
I'll give it my best try
but everyone dies
sometime

everyone has to go away
everyone moves on with their lives
but mine sits here and stagnates

I am marshland
I am steeping
I am waiting for the other shoe to drop
and if it doesn't I will take mine off
and throw it on the ground

last :: next
About Me:

Feverish ramblings of a pseudostar on the edge of disillusionment

Last Five Entries:

coupling - 2013-03-09
playing house - 2013-03-09
Raise - 2013-03-09
Ross - 2013-02-07
Williams - 2013-01-26